Program

    Event calendar

    Current focus

    Book of the Jews, Book of the Christians

    The Bible.
    Karte Die Bibel final 2 4
    The Bible.

    Book of the Jews, Book of the Christians

    The exhibition shows the multi-layered relationship between the Jewish Tanakh and the Christian Bible in eleven thematic areas, ranging from facts and figures about the Bible, its origins and handling, critical debate to its reflection in art.

    The Bible. Book of the Jews, Book of the Christians is presented at different places in the BIMU. In this way, the themes correspond impressively with the more than 300 original finds from the Israel Antiquities Authority and valuable manuscripts and prints in the permanent exhibition.

    Presented from 17 May to 28 August. Please note: From 1 to 22 August, the BIMU will be closed for renovation.

    Bestselling Luther translation 1522 to 2022

    500 years of Luther translation
    2021 04455 Druck Samariter
    500 years of Luther translation

    When an anonymous German translation of the New Testament appeared at the autumn fairs in Leipzig and Frankfurt exactly 500 years ago, it was immediately out of print. There was a reason for this: even if the name was not mentioned - the translation had to be by the monk Martin Luther, who was persecuted by the emperor and the pope.

    The "September Testament" was followed by eighty (!) more editions of the Luther Bible during Luther's lifetime (1483-1546) - and countless pirated copies. The first real bestseller in the history of books.

    Book Workshop in the Jubilee Year

    500 years of the September Testament
    2013 RB 3381 NT Druck Studie hoch
    500 years of the September Testament

    The book workshop offers many opportunities to get closer to the mystery of book printing and the success of Martin Luther's translation of the Bible: Printing a pirated copy on the Gutenberg press, folding and stitching a small Biblia as it was 500 years ago, playfully finding biblical phrases with the Luther word machine, sending word creations on postcards and much more invite you to discover the exciting history of Bible translation and distribution.

    Educational offers

Programm

    Veranstaltungskalender

    Aktuelle Schwerpunkte

    Buch der Juden, Buch der Christen vom 17. Mai bis 28. August 2022

    Die Bibel.
    Karte Die Bibel final 2 4
    Die Bibel.

    Buch der Juden, Buch der Christen

    Die Ausstellung zeigt das vielschichtige Verhältnis von jüdischem Tanach und christlicher Bibel in elf Themenfeldern von Tatsachen und Fakten rund um die Bibel, Entstehung und Umgang, kritischer Auseinandersetzung bis hin zur Spiegelung in der Kunst.

    Die Bibel. Buch der Juden, Buch der Christen wird an unterschiedlichen Orten im BIMU präsentiert. Dadurch korrespondieren die Themen eindrücklich mit den mehr als 300 originalen Fundstücken der Israelischen Antikenverwaltung und wertvollen Handschriften und Drucken der Dauerausstellung.

    Die Ausstellung wurde konzipiert von ImDialog, Evangelischer Arbeitskreis für das christlich-jüdische Gespräch in Hessen.

    Präsentiert vom 17. Mai bis 28. August. Bitte beachten Sie: Vom 1. bis 22. August ist das BIMU wegen Renovierung geschlossen.

    Bestseller Lutherübersetzung 1522 bis 2022

    500 Jahre Lutherübersetzung
    2021 04455 Druck Samariter
    500 Jahre Lutherübersetzung

    Als vor genau 500 Jahren eine anonyme deutsche Übersetzung des Neuen Testamentes auf den Herbstmessen in Leipzig und Frankfurt erschien, war sie sofort vergriffen. Das hatte seinen Grund: Auch wenn der Name nicht genannt war – die Übersetzung musste von dem von Kaiser und Papst verfolgten Mönch Martin Luther sein.

    Dem "Septembertestament" folgten zu Lebezeiten Luthers (1483-1546) achtzig (!) weitere Auflagen der Lutherbibel – und unzählige Raubkopien. Der erste wirkliche Bestseller der Buchgeschichte.


    Buchwerkstatt im Jubiläumsjahr – 500 Jahre Septembertestament

    500 Jahre Septembertestament
    2013 RB 3381 NT Druck Studie hoch
    500 Jahre Septembertestament

    Die Buchwerkstatt bietet viele Möglichkeiten, um dem Geheimnis des Buchdrucks und des Erfolgs der Bibelübersetzung Martin Luthers näher zu kommen: Drucken einer Raubkopie auf der Gutenbergpresse, eine kleine Biblia falzen und heften wie vor 500 Jahren, mit der Luther-Wort-Maschine spielerisch biblische Redewendungen finden, Wortschöpfungen auf Postkarten verschicken und vieles mehr laden ein, die spannende Geschichte der Bibelübersetzung und Verbreitung zu entdecken.

    Bildungsangebote